Video: Italian Nun Sr. Christina Sings “No One”!

Published on Mar 19, 2014 – Suor Christina canta “No one” di Alicia Keys. Si girano tutti e 4 i Coach, in ordine: J-Ax, Noemi, Piero Pelù e Raffaella Carrà.

The judges on the show begin with their backs turned to the performer, and turn around only if they like what they hear. As the judges turned to face Sr. Christina, their astonishment was visible at seeing a young nun singing Alicia Keys’ “No One.”

A native of Sicily, Sr. Christina arrived at the show accompanied by four sisters from her community, as well as her parents. The four judges of the popular TV program are the Italian singers Raffaella Carra, J-Ax, Noemi, and Piero Pelu. After her performance, Carra asked Sr. Christina if she is really a nun, and why she chose to compete on the show.

“Yes, I am truly, truly a sister,” she replied.

“I came here because I have a gift and I want to share that gift. I am here to evangelize.”

“If I had found you at Mass I would always be in church,” joked one of the  panel, an Italian rapper known as J-Ax, who then added: “You and me are like the  devil and holy water.” 🙂

They also asked her what the pope would say and she said he encourages sisters to come into the world and spread the word of God and there is no bigger platform than this…

Loved it!!!

Dunno why but my eyes teared up.

PS: It’s gotten almost 2.6m hits already.

Update:

http://hollywoodlife.com/2014/03/21/italian-nun-sings-the-voice-italy-alicia-keys-no-one/#comments

A number of reports here:

http://article.wn.com/view/2014/03/21/The_Voice_Italy_Rocked_by_Singing_Nun_Sister_

Cristina_Scucci_0/

~

It was in the NY Daily News  already – I didn’t get a newspaper yesterday:

.

WATCH: Italian nun wows ‘The Voice  of Italy’ judges with Alicia Keys’ ‘No One,’ hopes for call from Pope  Francis

Sister Cristina, 25,  shared her talent with judges J-Ax, Noemi, Piero Pelù and Raffaella Carrà, with  her fellow nuns excitedly supporting her backstage.

Sister Cristina, a 25-year-old nun from Sicily, wowed judges on Italy's "The Voice" with her version of Alicia Keys' "No One."

TheVoiceOf Italy/via YouTube

Sister Cristina, a 25-year-old nun from Sicily, wows judges on Italy’s ‘The  Voice’ with her version of Alicia Keys’ ‘No One.’

Move over Pope Francis, there’s a new spiritual sensation in town.

An Italian nun has become a national star after she wowed judges on her  country’s version of “The Voice.”

Rapper J-Ax is blown away when he turns around and sees Sister Cristina.

TheVoiceOf Italy/via YouTube

Rapper J-Ax is blown away when he  turns around and sees Sister Cristina.

Sister Cristina, from Sicily, saw all four chairs turn around during her  blind audition of Alicia Keys’ “No One.”

The 25-year-old then told the quartet: “I have a gift and I’m giving it to  you.”

The 25-year-old's colleagues from the convent excitedly support her from backstage.

TheVoiceOf Italy/via YouTube

The 25-year-old’s colleagues from the  convent excitedly support her from backstage.

Broadcast on Wednesday night, the clip has already racked up more than  30,000 views.

It shows the Catholic Sister confidently walking out onto the stage and  belting out her version of the hit song.

J-Ax and singer Noemi waste no time in turning around during Sister Cristina's performance.

TheVoiceOf Italy/via YouTube

J-Ax and singer Noemi waste no time  in turning around during Sister Cristina’s performance.

Fellow Sisters bounce up and down backstage as the judges decide they like  what they hear and push their buttons – only to be stunned when seeing the  singer.

“If I had found you at Mass I would always be in church,” joked one of the  panel, an Italian rapper known as J-Ax, who then added: “You and me are like the  devil and holy water.”

The talented nun hopes to get a call from Pope Francis.

TheVoiceOf Italy/via YouTube

The talented nun hopes to get a call  from Pope Francis.

Asked what the Vatican would think of her song, Cristina replied: “I hope  that Pope Francis will call me now.”

She eventually plumped to join J-Ax’s team and will now proceed to the  battle rounds.

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/world/watch-italian-nun-wows-voice-judges-alicia-keys-article-1.1727787#ixzz2wbeMIUNm

Update:

Well it’s all over the news today. Here’s a cute vine video tweet by J-ax starring his new team member:

http://www.today.com/entertainment/nun-stuns-voice-italy-alicia-keys-song-2D79415458#nun-stuns-voice-italy-alicia-keys-song-2D79415458

~

Well, went back and watched it again – got the lyrics to Alicia Keys’ “No One” – I can see now – she was deeply emotional because she was singing/praying to Jesus Christ  her love for Him and also praying/chanting for us. I’m not familiar with J-Ax but believe he knew right away (his twitter video explained it – methinks the sign of a great artist) who she was singing to – which is likely why he had tears in his eyes at times. It was a moment of two souls communicating via the Holy Spirit. We’re so far away from our spiritual world on earth that it’s beyond sad. We’ve been trained to think only of this world. Anyway here are the lyrics to the Alicia Keys song…

“No One”

I just want you close; Where you can stay forever; You can be sure

That it will only get better; You and me together; Through the days and nights

I don’t worry ’cause Everything’s going to be alright; People keep talking they can say what they like; But all I know is everything’s going to be alright

No one, no one, no one; Can get in the way of what I’m feeling; No one, no one, no one Can get in the way of what I feel for you, you, you Can get in the way of what I feel for you;
When the rain is pouring down; And my heart is hurting; You will always be around; This I know for certain
You and me together; Through the days and nights; I don’t worry ’cause Everything’s going to be alright; People keep talking they can say what they like;

But all I know is everything’s going to be alright;
No one, no one, no one; Can get in the way of what I’m feeling;

No one, no one, no one; Can get in the way of what I feel for you, you, you Can get in the way of what I feel;
I know some people search the world; To find something like what we have; I know people will try, try to divide, something so real;

So till the end of time I’m telling you there ain’t no one; No one, no one Can get in the way of what I’m feeling;

No one, no one, no one Can get in the way of what I feel for you

.
Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh [x2]

So when Sr. Christian responded to the question on why she came on the “Voice”  –

she said…

“I have a “gift” and I’m here to give “It” to you.” – “Shouldn’t it be that way”? In context of a spiritual world it makes a lot more sense, right? J-Az got “it” right away! None of the others had a clue no more than myself at the first watch…

Watch it again and see if you agree…

.

UPDATE: Videos-Images: Sr. Christina Wins the Voice of Italy Contest – Ends it with The Lord’s Prayer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment